你是否有时会产生一种冲动,想去做一些之前从未做过的事情?比如去陌生的地方探索,独自旅行,或者建造某个一直梦想着要建造的东西?那是你的火光在说话。让那火光持续,让它指引你。因为它会让你发光。当你发光的时候,也会激励别人发光。nbsp;

为了给你带来灵感,我们将和你分享那些追寻火光之人的火光时刻。

BOOM!

瑞典女性玻璃集体BOOM!的一张合影。

火是这个女性玻璃吹制者平台的中心。她们最大的目的是改变规范,并传承古老的传统。只是这一次更加俏皮和前卫。
-Jonna Dagliden Hunt

一辆汽车拖车驶入斯德哥尔摩的一个郊区。它不是普通的装满垃圾的拖车--这辆拖车被漆成粉红色,上面有独角兽和大火焰,燃烧着BOOM!的字样。它看起来像一个儿童故事中的东西;一个装满了......玻璃、工业炉和吹制工具的宝箱。由瑞典女性玻璃团体BOOM!创建的移动玻璃工作室 "Spajsy "实际上是为了使儿童和青少年更容易接受瑞典古老的玻璃传统。 

一条粉红色的小路,边上画着两个独角兽点燃明火
一个女人在塑造一块玻璃的形状

"我们想展示这个过程是如何运作的,让人们对这种材料产生兴趣,并让孩子和青少年有机会尝试,特别是在社会经济脆弱地区。我们还想向自己证明,我们可以从头开始建造一个炉子。因此,我们学习了焊接课程,在里面铺设了砖块,并在周围设置了隔离物。"Matilda Kästel说,她与Ammy Olofsson、Nina Westman、Erika Kristofersson Bredberg和Sara Lundkvist一起组成了BOOM!。

从1900年代瑞典玻璃传统的中心--斯莫兰的数百家玻璃厂,到现在的13家。现在,新一代的玻璃艺术家们正在延续这一传统。 

卡斯特尔说:"我们想让玻璃作为一种材料更容易获得,"她的家族在玻璃吹制方面有着悠久的传统,根植于德国。她正通过为这一工艺添加新的能量和视角来进一步发展。

"很多玻璃厂都在为自己的生存而奋斗,特别是由于生产成本的上升。因此,分享我们的工艺比以往任何时候都更重要。"

一个金发碧眼的女人在点火
一块温暖的玻璃的特写
一块玻璃被塑造成一个美丽的形状
一个金发碧眼的女人在点火
一块温暖的玻璃的特写
一块玻璃被塑造成一个美丽的形状
一个金发碧眼的女人在点火
一块温暖的玻璃的特写
一块玻璃被塑造成一个美丽的形状
卡斯特尔解释说,的高温、发光特性是这一切的出发点,因为所有的熔炉和火炬都是用它来点燃的。

从融化玻璃,到用木块或报纸将玻璃成型,再到在光荣洞中再次加热。 

"这是一种令人难以置信的工作材料。所有东西都是如此令人难以置信的热。火总是存在的,这迫使你也要在场。你需要考虑你的动作和你的穿着,"她说,并补充说玻璃是如此的直接--当你开始用它工作时是柔软的,而当温度冷却下来时,就非常硬和尖锐。

报纸烧焦的气味,炎热的温度,玻璃厂里的光线。所有的感官都包含在吹制玻璃的过程中。"卡斯特尔说:"如果我不吹玻璃,有很多东西会影响你的感官,而我却错过了。

在艺术学校期间相遇后,这五位艺术家决定联合起来,目的很简单:打破与工艺相关的规范和传统。"当我们与玻璃相遇和工作时,我们努力追求更多的游戏性。这包括使用技术来创造移动装置。有很多东西可以探索,"Kästel说,并强调他们每个人都有独立的身份。 

女玻璃工集体BOOM!Cricket 打火机的图片

卡斯特尔的雕塑作品对身体的作用提出质疑,并使用对比强烈的材料,如硅,使玻璃更加鲜明,而萨拉-伦德奎斯特在创作她的诗意作品时,受到精神和科幻的启发。Erika Kristofersson Bredberg喜欢吹制玻璃的过程和它留下的图案,Nina Westman对用玻璃的脆弱特性来捕捉人类的脆弱特性感兴趣--而Ammy Olofsson则从探索传统工艺和新技术等对比中获得灵感。 

该小组还为他们应邀参加的特定展览共同创作艺术作品,如最近在挪威北部艺术中心和斯莫兰省博达市玻璃工厂的展览。

将艺术家们联系在一起的是他们共同的激情,这对于能够继续下去是至关重要的。 

"如果有什么东西是你作为一个艺术家真正需要的,那就是一种动力。你需要一个向前迈进的野心。对我来说,这代表了你在生活中很早就意识到自己拥有的某种火花,"Kästel说。"我们需要彼此的支持。

事实
BOOM!是一个专门从事玻璃工作的女性分离主义团体,由艺术家Matilda Kästel、Ammy Olofsson、Nina Westman、Erika Kristofersson Bredberg和Sara Lundkvist组成。他们希望一起分享他们的技能和经验,并发展想法,举办展览和进行合作。

你是否有时会产生一种冲动,想去做一些之前从未做过的事情?比如去陌生的地方探索,独自旅行,或者建造某个一直梦想着要建造的东西?那是你的火光在说话。让那火光持续,让它指引你。因为它会让你发光。当你发光的时候,也会激励别人发光。nbsp;

为了给你带来灵感,我们将和你分享那些追寻火光之人的火光时刻。

Elle
Nikishkova

Elle在海滩上点火

纬度 59° 13' 26.4"
经度 18° 32' 27.6"

2021年6月,我们和瑞典户外专家Elle Nikishkova在斯德哥尔摩群岛共度了难忘的一天。

寂静。我们一到目的地时就感受到了这一点。没有人为的噪音,只有微风拂过树梢的声音和鸟儿的吟唱。淡淡的海草气息说明大海近在咫尺,就在小山的背后。当时是清晨,还有些许寒意。但不久万里晴空中升起的太阳就会给我们带来暖意。几周后,可能会有更多的人来到这里,跳进波罗的海里,来个令人神清气爽的海水浴。但今天,只有我们。我们所在的位置是斯德哥尔摩群岛驾车所能到达的最远地方,令人惊讶的是,它离斯德哥尔摩只有不到一个小时的车程。

Elle和她带来的设备Elle在松树林中采摘浆果
Elle在远处划着她的皮划艇

Elle把车上的东西卸了下来,逐一仔细检查。碗,检查。勺,检查。烧烤炉,检查。煎锅,检查。打火机,检查。就像在厨房做饭一样,在户外做饭也要需要配好设备。但我们跟对了人,Elle以前在户外做过饭。这是她对生活的热情所在,她利用自己的创造力最大限度地挖掘着大自然的恩赐。这恩赐既慷慨又大度。Elle告诉我们,瑞典至少有150种可食用的野生草本植物,很多都美味可口,另外还有各种各样的蘑菇。她通常会把采摘来的东西晾干,等到冬天带着去远足。

一艘停放的皮划艇
红色皮划艇特写,上面有一个红色的Cricket 打火机
在火炉上的锅里煮贻贝
一艘停放的皮划艇
红色皮划艇特写,上面有一个红色的Cricket 打火机
在火炉上的锅里煮贻贝
一艘停放的皮划艇
红色皮划艇特写,上面有一个红色的Cricket 打火机
在火炉上的锅里煮贻贝

我们在水边的一块石板上找了个不错的地方坐下来。乍看之下,这块石板似乎是纯“灰色”的。但凑近了之后,我们发现它更多的是由发光的云母、闪亮的石英、粉红的片麻岩和灰色花岗岩与一片片黑色、绿色和灰色的地衣混合而成的。石板与水接触的地方,覆盖着浅绿色,几乎是荧光绿色的海藻。在山坡的高处,有几个小水池和枯死的海藻,可能是由近期的暴雨带来的。

我们在那儿坐了好久,静静地看着大海,那温柔的波浪,那波光粼粼的水面。站在岸边眺望:一个又一个岛屿在夏日明媚的阳光下闪闪发亮,渐渐从苔绿色变成了浅灰色,最终消失在遥远的天空中。坐在海边,啜一杯新煮的热咖啡,这绝对是生活中一件再简单不过的事,人们应该更多地享受它。

我们查看地图,找到了一个可以露天生火做饭的地方。离我们几步之遥的海滩看起来完美无比。Elle打算划皮艇过去,其余的人则准备从森林里穿过去。Elle把皮艇拉进了水中,出发了。除了远处有一艘帆船外,她的皮艇是唯一可见的船只。水面之下,每年的这个时候,都会有鲈鱼和梭子鱼在海里畅游,可能还有波罗的海青鱼。垂钓无疑是户外专家的活动项目之一,但我们今天不钓鱼。我们带来了烹饪一顿美味大餐所需的一切,Elle将向我们展示她的野炊烹饪技术。

艾尔喝着咖啡,看着远方一个Cricket 打火机在海滩上燃烧的火炉旁

Elle向我们选定的海滩划去,我们也在森林中找到了一条通向那里的狭窄小路。小路上覆盖着厚厚的一层松针,踩上去感觉十分柔软舒适。路两旁的一些松树和刺柏因为恶劣的天气而枯萎,扭曲成了银光闪闪的枯木。

我们到达海滩的时候,噼啪作响的篝火已经升起,向我们表示欢迎。Elle告诉我们,生火可能是需要掌握的最重要的户外技能。篝火深深植根于人类历史。几十万年以来,它一路陪伴着我们走到了现代。除了帮助我们做饭,篝火还能给我们取暖,当然,大家围坐在篝火旁聊天也是惬意无比的一件事。

“生可能是需要掌握的最重要的户外技能”。

时间过得很快,黄昏即将来临。我们现在开始享用美味的晚餐。在海边度过了愉快的一天之后,我们一个个都饥肠辘辘。大家都禁不住觉得,野炊极为特别,这也与在外面吃饭相关。大家坐在一起,看着温暖跳动的火焰投射在周围的影子——实在是十分迷人又完美的放松方式,人生如此,夫复何求?

非常希望你关注我们的Facebook和Instagram账号。但首先,
请追寻你自己的火光!
篝火之夜的妇女
我们的故事
更光明的未来的火花

Do you sometimes feel the urge to do something you have never done before? Like exploring new places, going on a trip on your own or building something you’ve always dreamt of building? That’s your Spark speaking. Keep that Spark alive and let it guide you. Because it’s going to make you shine. And when you shine, you inspire others to shine too. 

To inspire you, we’ll be sharing Spark Moments from people who follow their Spark.

BOOM!

A group picture of the Swedish female glass collective BOOM!

Fire is at the epicentre of this female platform for glassblowers. Their biggest aim is to change norms and to pass down an age-old tradition. Only this time it’s more playful and edgy. 
—Jonna Dagliden Hunt

A car trailer rolls into a suburb of Stockholm. It is not the normal one filled with junk – this trailer is painted in pink with unicorns and large flames that burns through the word BOOM!. It looks like something from a children’s story; a treasure chest filled with… glass, an industrial furnace and tools for blowing. The mobile glass studio ”Spajsy” by the Swedish female glass collective BOOM! was in fact created to make the age-old Swedish glass tradition more accessible to children and teenagers. 

a pink trail with two unicorns painted on the sideLighting an open flame
A woman shaping a piece of glass

”We wanted to show how the process works, create an interest in the material, and give kids and teenagers a chance to try it out, especially in socioeconomically vulnerable areas. We also wanted to prove to ourselves that we can build a furnace from scratch. So we took a course in welding, laid the bricks on the inside, and put isolation around it,” says Matilda Kästel who together with Ammy Olofsson, Nina Westman, Erika Kristofersson Bredberg and Sara Lundkvist make up BOOM!.

From hundreds of glassworks in Småland, the epicenter of Swedish glass tradition, in the 1900s, to 13 remaining. Now a new generation of glass artists are renewing the tradition. 

”We want to make glass as a material more available,” says Kästel whose family has a long tradition in glassblowing, with the roots in Germany. She is taking it further by adding new energy and perspectives to the craft.

”Lots of glassworks are fighting for their survival, not least due to rising production costs. It’s therefore more important than ever to share our craft.”

A blond woman lighting a fire
A closeup of a warm piece of glass
A piece of glass being formed into a beautiful shape
A blond woman lighting a fire
A closeup of a warm piece of glass
A piece of glass being formed into a beautiful shape
A blond woman lighting a fire
A closeup of a warm piece of glass
A piece of glass being formed into a beautiful shape
The hot, glowing properties of fire, Kästel explains, is the starting point for it all since all furnaces and torches are lit with it.

From melting the glass, to forming the glass with wooden blocks or newspaper and heating it again in the glory hole. 

”It’s an incredible material to work with. Everything is so incredibly hot. Fire is always present which forces you to be present as well. You need to think about how you move and what you wear,” she says and adds that glass is so immediate – soft when you start working with it, and when the temperature cools down, very hard and sharp.

The smell of burnt newspaper, the hot temperature, the light in the glassworks. All senses are included in the process of blowing glass. ”There are lots of things that affect you sensorially that I miss if I don’t blow glass,” Kästel says.

Having met during art school, the five artists decided to join forces with a simple purpose: to break norms and traditions associated with the craft. ”We strive for more playfulness when we meet with and work with glass. This includes using technology to create moving installations. There is so much to explore,” Kästel says, and highlights that each of them has separate identities. 

The female glassblower collective BOOM!A picture of Cricket lighters

While Kästel’s sculptures questions the role of the body, and uses contrasting materials, such as silicon, to make the glass even more distinct, Sara Lundqvist is inspired by spirituality and science fiction when she creates her poetic pieces. Erika Kristofersson Bredberg loves the process of blowing glass and the patterns it leaves behind, Nina Westman is interested in capturing the fragile nature of humans with the fragile nature of glass – and Ammy Olofsson is inspired by exploring contrasts such as traditional craft and new technology. 

The group also creates artworks together for specific shows they get invited to, such as recent shows at the North Norwegian Arts Center, and at The Glass Factory in Boda, Småland.

What binds the artists together is their shared passion that is crucial to be able to continue. 

”If there is something you really need as an artist it is a drive. You need an ambition to move forward. For me that represents a certain spark that you early on in life realise you have,” Kästel says. ”We need each other to support that”.

Facts
BOOM! is a female separatist group exclusively working in glass that consists of the artists Matilda Kästel, Ammy Olofsson, Nina Westman, Erika Kristofersson Bredberg and Sara Lundkvist. Together they want to share their skills and experiences and develop ideas, mount exhibitions and enter collaborations.

Do you sometimes feel the urge to do something you have never done before? Like exploring new places, going on a trip on your own or building something you’ve always dreamt of building? That’s your Spark speaking. Keep that Spark alive and let it guide you. Because it’s going to make you shine. And when you shine, you inspire others to shine too. 

To inspire you, we’ll be sharing Spark Moments from people who follow their Spark.

Elle
Nikishkova

Elle lighting a fire on a beach

Latitude 59° 13' 26.4"
Longitude 18° 32' 27.6"

In June 2021, we went along with Swedish outdoor expert Elle Nikishkova for an unforgettable day in the Stockholm archipelago.

The silence. That’s the first thing we notice when we arrive at our destination. There’s no man-made noise, just a light breeze in the tree tops and the birds singing. The faint smell of seaweed reveals that the sea is close by, just behind that small hill. It’s early morning and still a bit chilly. But soon enough the sun will warm us from high above the cloud free sky. In a few weeks there will probably be more people here, looking for a refreshing dip in the Baltic Sea. But today, there’s just us. We’re about as far out into the Stockholm archipelago as one can get by car and it’s quite amazing that it’s less than an hour’s drive from Stockholm City.

Elle and the equipment she broughtElle picking berries in a pine forest
Elle paddling her kayak in the distance

Elle unloads the car, going through every item. Bowls. Check. Ladles. Check. Fire bowl. Check. Frying pan. Check. Lighter. Check. Just as when you’re preparing a meal in your kitchen, you need to have your equipment in order when you’re cooking outdoors. But we’re in good hands, Elle’s done this before. This is her passion in life and she’s using her creativity to get the most out of what nature has to offer. Which is a lot. Elle tells us there are at least 150 edible wild herbs and plants in Sweden, quite a few of them tasty too. Not to mention the many types of mushrooms. She usually dries a lot of what she picks and brings it on her winter excursions.

A parked kayak
Closeup of a red kayak with a red Cricket lighter on it
Mussels being cooked in a pan on a fireplace
A parked kayak
Closeup of a red kayak with a red Cricket lighter on it
Mussels being cooked in a pan on a fireplace
A parked kayak
Closeup of a red kayak with a red Cricket lighter on it
Mussels being cooked in a pan on a fireplace

We found a nice place to sit on a rock slab next to the water. At first glance, the slab looks solid “grey”. But when we look closer, we see that it’s more of a mix of glimmering mica, shiny quartz, pink gneiss and grey granite with patches of black, green and grey lichen. Where the slab meets the water, it’s covered with light green, almost fluorescent, seaweed. Higher up on the hillside, there are small pools of water and dead seaweed, probably from a recent storm.

We sit there for a long while, silently watching the sea, the gentle waves, the glittering surface of the water. Beyond the shore: island after island shimmer in the bright summer sun in colours ranging from moss green to light grey, and fade into the sky in the far distance. Sitting by the sea, sipping on a hot cup of newly brewed coffee is definitely one of those simple things in life one should appreciate more.

We check the map to find a place where we can cook dinner over an open fire. A beach within walking distance looks perfect. Elle’s going to take the kayak there, the rest of us will walk through the forest. Elle puts the kayak in the water and heads out. Except for a sailing boat in the distance, her kayak is the only visible craft. Below the surface, there are perch and pike, and, this time of year, probably Baltic herring too. Fishing is of course part of the outdoor expert’s toolkit, but we’re not fishing today. Instead, we’ve brought everything we need for a delicious meal and Elle’s going to show us how to cook it over the open fire.

Elle drinking her coffee and looking into the distanceA Cricket lighter beside a blazing fireplace on a beach

Elle is paddling to the beach we decided on, and we find a narrow path through the forest to get there. The path is covered with a thick layer of pine needles, which feels soft and comfortable under our feet. On both sides there are pines and juniper wood, some of which hasn’t survived the harsh weather here and turned into twisted figures of silver shimmering dead wood.

When we get to the beach, a crackling fire is welcoming us. Being able to make a fire is probably the most important outdoor skill one needs to master, Elle tells us. The open fire is deeply rooted in us human beings. It’s been with us for several hundred thousand years and has accompanied us all the way into modernity. Apart from helping us to cook our food, an open fire keeps us warm and it’s of course wonderfully cozy to gather around for socializing.

“Being able to make a fire is probably the most important outdoor skill“

The day has passed too quickly and dusk is approaching. We’re now enjoying a delicious meal and we’re indeed very hungry after a lovely day by the sea. We can’t help but think there’s something very special about outdoor cooking, as there is about eating outside too. And sitting close by, watching the warm, vibrant flames cast shadows on the surroundings – it’s mesmerizing and a perfect way to wind down. Could one ask for more?

We’d be thrilled if you follow us on Facebook and Instagram
– but first and foremost, follow your Spark!
Our Story
The spark for a brighter future